By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
11 Liberty schools earn Title 1 honors
Placeholder Image

Distinguished schools

   School name              Consecutive           Years               Award
                                       years making     distinguished

Lyman Hall Elementary         10                    8                       $1,113
Taylors Creek Elementary     10                    8                       $1,113
Frank Long Elementary          9                     7                        $1,113
Joseph Martin Elementary      9                     7                        $1,113
Jordye Bacon Elementary      8                     6                           $742
Button Gwinnett Elementary   8                    6                           $742
Waldo Pafford Elementary     8                    6                           $742
Snelson-Golden Middle           7                    5                           $742
Liberty Elementary                3                    1                     certificate
Midway Middle                     3                    1                     certificate
Lewis Frasier Middle             3                    1                     certificate

State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge named 868 Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools and four Title I Distinguished Districts at a recent state board of education meeting.
“These schools have shown that high expectations, hard work and collaboration do improve student achievement,” Barge said. “I’m so pleased to recognize the educators, students and parents in these schools and school districts.”
Title I schools have a significant population of students who are economically disadvantaged. These schools receive federal money to assist with the education of their students. There are two National Title I Distinguished Schools among the total 868 Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools. Title I Distinguished Schools have made Adequate Yearly Progress at least three years in a row.
“These 868 schools could make excuses, but they don’t,” Barge said. “The teachers and students are focused and the consistent results prove it.”
Title I Distinguished Schools that have made AYP for three consecutive years are awarded a certificate, while those who have made AYP four or more years receive a monetary award, paid for out of federal funds.

Sign up for our e-newsletters