By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
AASU revises academic structure, introduces two new colleges
Placeholder Image
SAVANNAH - Armstrong Atlantic State University's largest academic unit, the College of Arts and Sciences, has been reorganized into two distinct colleges. The structural changes will increase opportunities for interdisciplinary research, grant writing and strengthen relationships among different academic departments within the university.
The new colleges are the College of Science and Technology and the College of Liberal Arts. Further, the academic departments that belonged in the former School of Computing are now part of the College of Science and Technology.
"The new structure creates more opportunities for students to conduct research at the undergraduate level," said Ellen Whitford, AASU vice president of academic affairs and dean of faculty. The changes also create new potential for collaborations among departments and across academic fields. Further, there are new opportunities for additional academic programs, as particular community needs or labor force demands are identified in the region.
"We had a very large College of Arts and Sciences and one small School of Computing," said Whitford. "Science and technology today are interdisciplinary programs that don't stand alone, but are very much interrelated."
Discussions regarding an academic reorganization began in early 2007. Whitford, working with deans and department heads, identified a need for an improved academic structure that would make better use of faculty expertise and provide a better environment for students, faculty, and staff.
The College of Science and Technology includes the departments of computer science, information technology, engineering, chemistry and physics, biology, mathematics and psychology.
The College of Liberal Arts includes the departments of languages, literature and philosophy (one department), art, music and theatre (one department), criminal justice, social and political science (one department), economics, history, liberal studies, and military science.
In addition to the College of Science and Technology and the College of Liberal Arts, Armstrong Atlantic's other academic units include the College of Education and the College of Health Professions.

Sign up for our e-newsletters