By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Four new board members at Savannah Tech
EDU save tech board members
People present when Judge Steven Scheer administered the oath of office to new members of the Savannah Technical Colleges Board of Directors, included, from left: the Rev. Thurman Tillman, vice chairman, Cathy Hill, Michael Polak, Lamar Crosby, Scheer, Jimmy Burnsed, Leland Sanders and Donald Lovette. - photo by Photo provided.
SAVANNAH — The Savannah Technical College Local Board of Directors welcomed four new members at its August meeting last week on the Savannah Campus.
Joining are Michael W. Biering, deputy garrison commander, U.S. Army, Fort Stewart/HAAF, Cathy Plummer Hill, vice president Coastal Region, Georgia Power, Leland Sanders, vice president manufacturing, Temcor, and Michael Polak, executive director external affairs, Memorial Health.
College President Kathy S. Love welcomed the new members and praised their willingness to serve.
“Our technical colleges need strong volunteer leaders who bring with them perspective, insight and experience. I’m confident that the new members will help Savannah Technical College continue its strong record of community service,” she said.
Biering served in the Army for 26 years, assuming his current position in June 2008. The native of Charleston, S.C., graduated from the U.S. Military Academy in 1978 and was commissioned in the Corp of Engineers. He later earned a master's of science from the Georgia Institute of Technology and is a registered professional engineer in Virginia and certified facility manager.
Savannah Tech serves Bryan, Chatham, Effingham and Liberty counties and has a campus in Liberty County. Other Board members include Don Tomberlin, chair; Thurman Tillman, vice-chair; Jimmy Burnsed, Lamar Crosby, Dick Knowlton, Donald Lovette, Tom Ratcliffe and Rosalyn Truitt.
Sign up for our e-newsletters