By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
MLK Jr. golf tourney issues $90K to date
Third place: The CRC Team of Verner Jennings, Ernest Bowles, Arnold Smalley and David Dalton. - photo by Photo provided.

The weather was perfect for 18 holes of golf Saturday at Cherokee Rose Country Club, as 21 teams lined up for the ninth annual Martin Luther King Jr. Association Golf Tournament, which raises scholarship funds for local high-school seniors.
Tournament chairman Kenneth Howard announced that the annual event had issued $90,000 to local students to date.
Each year, the tourney offers 10 $1,000 scholarships to help cover the cost of books or materials to high-school seniors who have enrolled in and been accepted to college.
MLK Jr. Association President Alan Jackson said the application process to receive scholarship funds ensures the money goes to students who are enrolled and can prove they have a curriculum for the semester. Students have to write an essay, provide proof of college enrollment and provide college entrance testing scores. “And all of the students who have received the funds have gone on to complete their college studies, so right now we have a high success rate,” he said.
This year, the tournament was given a boost from the folks at Dixon Golf, a company that specializes in the production of 100 percent recyclable golf balls.
“We have a program that we have called the Dixon challenge, and it helps raise money for the charities,” regional manager Jason Workman said. “We work with charities across the country … and we are able to provide the tournaments with prizes and give back to their community.”
Workman set up on the 13th hole and offered golfers an opportunity to try the company’s product while raising funds for the tourney.
All the golfers were treated to a meal and prizes at the end.

First place: The Jones, Osteen and Jones team of Anthony McIver, John M. Blue, Kenneth Howard, Greg Bryant and Darrell Lovette.
Second place: The First African Baptist team of Neil Dawson, Mickey Sapp, Keith Reddings and Cory Dawson.
Third place: The CRC Team of Verner Jennings, Ernest Bowles, Arnold Smalley and David Dalton.
Longest drive: Kendall Paige

Sign up for our e-newsletters