By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Long County honors football players
Long Co Football Award Banquet  Held
Long County coaches and boosters hand out awards at the football awards banquet. - photo by Photo by Gina Riddle

The Long County football team recently had its annual sports banquet recognizing players for achievement during the 2016 season.

This year, the varsity awards honored several standout players; Most Valuable Player Jamin Davis, Coaches Award Kyree Coprick, Most Improved Player Holden Riddle, the MV Defensive Player Tariq Carpenter, and the MV Offensive Player Elijah Wright.

Earning certificates for making the 2-AAA All Region Team were linebacker Davis (first team), wide receiver Christian Bass (second team), defensive back Carpenter (second team), offensive lineman Quainelius Bacon (second team), linebacker M’Kiyah Folston (honorable mention), defensive lineman Quentin Facen (honorable mention) and defensive lineman Holden Riddle (honorable mention).

Earning academic awards for their work in the classroom were Bass for the varsity team and Gavin McNeel for the junior varsity team.

Other junior varsity awards went to Treyon Davis, Coaches Award, Garrett Bleyman, Defensive MVP, and Tavon Anderson, Offensive MVP.

Earning letterman bars was Gerald Williams, Cody Cox, Eric Crawford, Jack Lauver, Michael Ross, Bowen Smiley, Tripp Stapelton, Deondrae Volcy, Chris Wells, Riddle, Bass, Carpenter, Coprick, Davis, Facen and Wright.

Earning their first letter for

varsity play were Issac Abram, Jaylen Bryant, Justin Carryl, Rayquan Dixon, Jonathon Elder, Dustin Ellerbe, Justin Floyd, Justin Groover, Joey Guadaulpe, Liam Kelly, Lamar Lawrence, Dazon Mills, Aron Nevarez, Bacon, and Folston.

Certificates for completing the season went to Marquese Bacon, Jose Boyd, Kase Brannen, Xavier Carlton, Jashon Carter, Maurice Carter, De’Shaun Dixon, Branden Edwards, Noah Ellison, Ty Gowan, Mark Hall, Tony Harper, Gabriel Kelly, Kai Loehnert, Michael Maldonado, Hunter McPhearson, Chris Nelson, Jordan Ostrom, Travon Phillips, Chris Robinette, Dominic Roschmann, Kolbie Sanford, Daniel Scheck, Dewayne Singleton, Michael Smith, Corey Taylor, Josh Velasco, Reece Wigal, Quantrell Williams, Travis Williams, William Wright, Travon Witherspoon, Anderson, Bleyman, Davis and McNeel.

Appreciation awards went to Lane Edwards, Eric Sizemore, Nick Thompson, Steve Hilgenburg, Caleb Bailey, Kadee Dasher, Joe Kuzlick, James Davis, Joey Harrison, Louis Montijo and Gary Poppel.

Go to to see more pictures from the banquet.

Sign up for our e-newsletters