By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Boy Scouts honor leaders
1226 Boy scout awards
Dr. Bill Cathcart, vice president of operations at WTOC-TV, speaks to Boy Scout leaders of the Liberty District Coastal Empire Councils awards banquet. - photo by Photo provided.

Boy Scout leaders of Liberty District Coastal Empire Council were honored recently at the council’s annual awards banquet at Hinesville United Methodist Church.

Two classes of 2010 Eagle Scouts opened the program. Guest speaker Dr. Bill Cathcart, vice president of operations at WTOC-TV, talked about the values of Scouting in today’s world.

Honored with awards were: Max Coles, Troop 486: scoutmaster of the year; Rhonda Stafford, Pack 566: cubmaster of the year; Ken Campbell: commissioner of the year; Adrian Delaroso, Troop 500: scout leader of the year; and Linda Hansen, Pack 566: cub leader of the Year.

The highest award a district presents is the District Award of Merit, which is given for outstanding service to the district, and it went to Neil Pedersen and Steve George.

The Liberty District encompasses Liberty, Long and eastern Bryan counties and serves more than 34 Scouting units. For more information, call district executive Micah Donaldson at 912-441-7649.

Sign up for our e-newsletters