By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Special education teachers honored
child week2
Becky Kelly, executive director of DEL, and Teresa Garretson, a 30-year veteran teacher, pose for a picture. - photo by Photo provided.
Each year the National Council for Exceptional Children designates a week in March to celebrate students with disabilities. This year it was March 4-10 and the Liberty County Division for Exceptional Learning hosted a reception for the teachers of students with disabilities.
Honored at the reception was the Liberty County Special Education Teacher of the Year, Veronica Harris.
Harris is a 12-year veteran teacher at LCHS. She was also honored this year as LCHS’ Teacher of the Year.
Angie Malek and Kristen Copes were recognized as shining stars for their work to catalog the district’s assistive technology.
Linda Lynn was honored for helping two of the district’s teachers collect the alternate assessment portfolios on their students.
Trang Black was recognized for her work at the state level forming and setting the standards for the new AAPs.
Also, teachers were recognized for their number of years of service to SWD in Liberty County.
• Teresa Garretson was honored for her 30 years in Liberty County.
• Shirley Walker, Carol Gardner and Harriet Stavro for at least 25 years .
• Jeanine Robinson and Shirley Walthour for at least 20 years.
• Sarah Corbett, Laurel Howard and Judy Rockwood, for at least 15 years.
Ten teachers were honored who have been in Liberty County at least a decade.
There were 20 teachers who were recognized with at least five years in Liberty County.
Sign up for our e-newsletters