By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Two earn military child scholarships
Academic Honors
grad hat on books

Two students from Hinesville have each received one of the 700 scholarship presented to college and high school students this year by the annual Scholarships for Military Children Program.

Jennifer Garcia and Sarah McPherson are among approximately 4,000 students who applied for the scholarships at commissaries worldwide. All of the recipients are listed at, the official website for the program.

Both Garcia and McPherson received $2,000 college scholarships awarded at Fort Stewart. Fort Stewart is one of nearly 250 commissaries operated worldwide by the Defense Commissary Agency.

Garcia’s parents are Saul and Maria Garcia. She said she plans to attend college but has not decided where yet. Her activities at Liberty County High School have included soccer, cross country, National Honor Society, youth group and class officer.

McPherson is the daughter of Stanley and Sheilah McPherson and is also undecided about her college. Her activities at First  Presbyterian Christian Academy included Pre-Nursing Society, Students of Service, HOSA, Ronald McDonald House volunteer and student government.

The Scholarships for Military Children Program was started in 2000 to award scholarships to graduating high school seniors and college-enrolled students. It is open to sons and daughters of members of the U.S. armed services.

Applicants for the 2016 program were required to maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA, participate in voluntary school and community activities, demonstrate leadership qualities and write an essay on how obesity is hurting the military and society.

Manufacturers and organizations that do business with the commissary system funded the scholarships.

Both students’ scholarships were funded by the Fisher House Foundation, which is known for building comfort homes near military medical facilities.

Iowa school’s honors

DUBUQUE, Iowa — The University of Dubuque has named Reymoi Jno-Lewis of Hinesville to the spring semester 2016 dean’s list.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale for that semester.

Aftermarket scholarship for aspiring mechanic

LAKEWOOD, Colo. — Alejandro Olivo of Ludowici has been selected by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation Scholarship to receive a grant of $1,000.

Olivo said he plans to attend Savannah Technical College to study automotive technology.

“Alejandro Olivo was selected from more than 500 applicants at a recent meeting of the scholarship selection committee,” selection Committee chairman Peter Kornafel said. “The Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium, the University of the Aftermarket Foundation and other donors and organizations will award more than 300 scholarships in 2016 and have awarded more than 2,500 since the beginning of the program in 1996.

“It is a privilege to support this program training people for careers in the automotive aftermarket.”

MPs award scholarship

Maria Robledo of Fort Stewart has won a scholarship from the Military Police Regimental Association.

She is the daughter of Michael Robledo and is majoring in early childhood education at Armstrong State University.

Scholarship managers, a national service, manages the program for the MPRA.

Sign up for our e-newsletters