By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying deadline is Friday
Municipal elections to be in November
Placeholder Image

Qualifying for this year’s municipal elections got off to a quick and easy start as contenders from across Liberty County flowed in and out of the Liberty County Voter Registration Office on Monday.
Candidates seeking city council and mayoral offices in Allenhurst, Gum Branch, Hinesville, Riceboro and Walthourville began filing official notices of candidacy promptly at 8:30 a.m., according to Chief Registrar Ella Golden, and continued steadily throughout the day.
Hinesville mayoral candidate Sampie Smith was the first in line to file his notice of candidacy with the office, and opponents Billy Kitchings and Jim Thomas promptly followed suit and handed in their notices Monday as well.
Incumbent mayors Thomas Hines of Allenhurst and Henry Frasier Sr. of Walthourville also filed their notices on the first day, making it clear they were ready for another run at four years in office.
Although some political hopefuls opted to complete their paperwork on the first day, candidates planning to have their names placed on the Nov. 6 ballot have until 4:30 p.m. Friday to qualify for their city’s election.
“The first day went as well as expected. Everything was smooth,” Golden. “I expect the rest of the week to continue to go well.”
Candidates needing to qualifying or ask questions about the process can stop by the registrar’s office at 102 South Commerce St. in Hinesville or call the office at 876-3310.

Voting in the November election
• Allenhurst, Gum Branch, Hinesville, Riceboro and Walthourville residents hoping to vote in their city’s election must register by Oct. 9.
• Cities in which council seats are broken into districts/posts will not allow voters to vote across districts/posts.

 Qualifiers by position and
city as of 4 p.m. Tuesday

Allenhurst mayor
Thomas G. Hines

Allenhurst City Council
Nancy Jane Bezanson
Amanda Cox
Wilma J. Gaskin

Hinesville mayor
Billy Kitchings
Sampie W. Smith
James “Jim” Thomas

Hinesville City Council
First district
Charles Frasier
Robert D. Robbins

Hinesville City Council
Second District
James R. “Bobby” Ryon

Hinesville City Council
Third district
David Anderson Sr.
Bonita Smith

Hinesville City Council
Fourth district
Jack Shuman
Keith Jenkins

Hinesville City Council
Fifth district
Kenneth Shaw
Peter L. Jones

Riceboro mayor
William T. Austin

Riceboro City Council
John Young
Dennis P. Fitzgerald
Modibo M. Kadalie

Walthourville Mayor
Henry Frasier Sr.

Walthourville City Council, Post 1
Patricia A. Green

Walthourville City Council, Post 4
Luciria Luckey Lovette

Walthourville City Council, Post 5
Charlie L. Anderson

Sign up for our e-newsletters