By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying's over, so here's a list of Liberty County qualifiers:
Vote logo

Voters in Liberty County will have a number of options in the May primaries for local office.

Here’s a list of qualified candidates, according to Liberty County Election Superintendent Ella Golden. Two incumbents didn’t qualify – School Board District 2 member Carolyn Smith Carter, who announced earlier this year she wouldn’t seek re-election, and longtime District 4 County Commissioner Pat Bowen.


Democratic party qualifiers, (I) means incumbent:

Chief Magistrate: Melinda Anderson (I), Dana Ingram

County Commission Chairman: Donald Lovette (I), Graylan Quarterman

Superior Court Clerk: Lisa Artis, Linda Dixon Thompson (I)

Coroner: Reginald L. Pierce Sr. (I)

Probate Court Judge: Nancy Aspinwall (I)

Sheriff: Will Bowman, Steve Sikes (I)

County Commissioner District 5: Gary Gilliard

County Commissioner District 4: Maxie Jones IV; Carl T. Blount

County Commissioner District 6: Minnie Stafford, Eddie Walden (I)


State court solicitor: Mark Hendrix

Board of Education (non partisan):

District 1: Verdell Jones

District 2: Joe Kelly Sr., Marcus Scott IV

District 3: Carol Guyett (I)

State Court Judge: Jeffrey Osteen (I)




Sign up for our e-newsletters