By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Schools Win First Place in Southern Regional Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl
Lyman Hall winners
Lyman Hall Elementary Team Top left to right: Mariel Pereira, Desmond Jordan, Kirra Keating, Michael Anderson Bottom left to right: Isaac Ramirez, Coach Nathaniel Ball, Angelica Santos

(Hinesville, GA)— Lyman Hall Elementary, Midway Middle, and 10th grade student from Liberty County High School, Amanda Pilozo, participated in the Southern Regional Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl which was held virtually Feb. 20, according to a press release issued by the Liberty County School System.

Lyman Hall Elementary and Midway Middle brought home 1st place trophies in the competition. 

Although Pilozo, who represented our high schools, was not able to bring home a trophy, she beat out two other full high school teams while competing alone. 

The Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl began in 1985 in DeKalb County when media specialist Helen Ruffin devised a way to involve her students in reading the Georgia Children’s Book Award nominees. The first state-wide reading bowl was held in 2003 and was open to anyone who wanted to participate.

The 2004 Georgia Bowl had only 15 school systems participating. Today there are 190 school systems involved in the reading bowl. Students prepare for the reading bowl by reading the ten Georgia Children’s Book Award nominees for their level, elementary or middle/high. The students then practice using comprehension questions that have been created by their coaches and team members. Questions for the regional and state bowls are created by the state steering committee. 

Lyman Hall Elementary and Midway Middle School will go on to compete against five teams from across Georgia in the combined Division/State Bowl which will be held virtually on March 6, 2021.

Liberty County High School Team Amanda Pilozo
Midway team
Midway Middle School Team From left to right: Landen McDaniel, Coach Nancy Probst, Emma Wasdin, Coach Cristina Dover, Isabella Picone, Faith Ryan, Michael Bell, Xavier Mattus. Not pictured but participated virtually: Emily Laney. Team member but didn't participate: Brendin Powell
Sign up for our e-newsletters