By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Smiley Elementary salutes winning young authors
Smiley authors
From left are: Smiley Elementary School Principal Beverly Hill, Nyla Merritt, Demi Wasdin and Avery Dibernardo. - photo by Photo provided.

Congratulations are in order for the Young Georgia Author winners from Smiley Elementary School.  

Each year Long County School District participates in the Young Georgia Author contest. The contest allows for every student to submit a writing piece. The writing pieces are judged and grade level winners are determined for the Long County School District.  

The winners for the 2018-2019 school year include Nyla Merritt in Catherine Smiley’s kindergarten class, Demi Wasdin in Lauren Anderson’s first grade class, and Avery Dibernardo in Nan Pedrick’s second grade class. These students will continue on to compete at district level. Smiley Elementary School faculty and student body is proud of its winners.

Sign up for our e-newsletters