By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Blue Tide star is Region 2-AA Player of Year
Long County football coach Eric McNair presents an award to Brendon Scott, the Mike Reed Chevrolet/Coastal Courier Player of the Year, as well as varsity Overall Player of the year and Region 2-AA Player of the Year. - photo by Patty Leon

The Long County football team had its annual football awards banquet Dec. 14 at the school’s cafeteria. The athletes were recognized for their contributions and Tide football coach Eric McNair thanked Blue Tide parents and supporters for a successful season.

“Our main goal here at Long County is to be a small part of raising these guys to be good husbands, fathers and citizens of the country,” McNair said, “to push them to be the best they can be. That is why I coach and that is why these men coach and that is why you parents push your kids toward the same things.”

For the second year in a row, the Mike Reed Chevrolet/Coastal Courier Player of the Year went to star athlete Brendon Scott.
Scott is a Blue Tide senior. McNair said they are working on getting him a college scholarship.

In his Long County career, Scott has completed 35-of-22 passes for 1,914 yards and 14 touchdowns. He rushed for 2,832 yards on 487 carries with 10 100-plus yard games for 22 touchdowns.
Scott also received the varsity Overall Player of the Year Award and was Region 2-AA Player of the Year.

First time varsity lettermen were:
Perrell Brisbane, Angelo Ciccone, Cody Cox, Eric Crawford, Quentin Facen, Cody Ignazewski, Holden Riddle, Hunter Sizemore, Bowen Smiley, Tripp Stapleton, Ioannis Watkins, Elijah Wright

Bar winners were:
Christian Bass, Brett Blake, Braden Buhoveckey, Tariq Carpenter, Kyree Coprick, Jamin Davis, Shuvon Davis, Reid Goode, Jaquaruis Harrison, Darvis Holmes, Jonathon Holton, Vaughn Kelly, Jack Lauver, TJ McCrae, Deandre Reddick, Michael Ross, Brendon Scott, Xavier Stapleton, Antonio Taylor, Deondre Volcy, Keishawn Wagner, Chris Wells, Gerald Williams and Emil Wright.

Awards went to:
Offensive JV MVP: Eric Crawford
Defensive JV MVP: Hunter Sizemore
JV Coaches Award: Cody Cox
Academic Award Winners: JV Austin Keller, Varsity winner Ioannis Watkins

Varity Offensive MVP: Jaquarius Harrison
Varsity Most Improved Player: Jack Lauver
Varsity Coaches’ Award: Reid Goode
Varsity Defensive MVP: Jamin Davis
Varsity True Grit Award: Keishawn Wagner

All-Region All-Academic: Ioannis Watkins and Vaughn Kelly
All-Region First Team: Jamin Davis, Tariq Carpenter and Jack Lauver
All-Region Second Team: Jaquarius Harrison, Darvis Holmes and Perrel Brisbane
All-Region Honorable Mention: Reid Goode, Gerald Williams, Keishawn Wagner and Jonathon Holton

Sign up for our e-newsletters