By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eagles take pee-wee league softball title
The Bandits were the pee-wee league runners-up. - photo by Photo provided.

The Eagles captured the pee-wee league softball title with a 15-7 win against the Bandits in the Liberty County Recreation Department’s softball championship game June 3.

The Bandits’ road to the title game started with a 17-6 win against the Panthers on May 27. On May 30 the Bandits defeated the Tigers 12-5.

The Bandits faced the Eagles in their last playoff game on June 3, losing 8-7. After a break, the two teams went at it for the championship.

The Eagles started the playoffs with a loss to the Tigers on May 27. But in their next playoff game on May 30, the Eagles eked out a one-run victory over the Panthers, 13-12. On June 1, the Eagles defeated the Tigers 17-3, which led to their double-header playoff and championship game against the Bandits.


Score recap

May 27

Bandits 17, Panther 6

No lead hitters listed for either team

Eagles, Tigers (won) no score provided by LCRD

May 30

Panthers 12, Eagles 13

Leading hitters, Panthers Sara Hence, Kiara Jeffrey, Alexis Gonzales, Heather Stewart and Tamia Walker; Eagles Caitlyn Latiolais, Alexis Barnes, Alexandra Gentile, Zoey Mays and Haley Stephens

Bandits 12, Tigers 5

Leading hitters, Tigers Delaney Wells, Hannah Berry, Danielle Hennessee and Elizabeth McGee; Bandits Haleigh Reese, Anyah Brooks, Candice Blitch and Caliah Sim.

June 1

Eagles 17, Tigers 3

Lead hitters, Eagles Caitlyn Latiolais, Alexis Barnes, Alexandra Gentile and Jamie Johnson; Tigers Madison Winn, Danielle Hennessee and Jazmyn Eldridge.

June 3

Eagles 8, Bandits 7

Eagles Alexandra Gentile, Alexis Barnes, Caitlyn Latiolais and Jamie Johnson; Bandits Quavier Hallmon, Mya Gilliard and Sara Speicher.

Championship game

Eagles 15, Bandits 7

Bandits Mya Gilliard, Quavier Hallmon, Candice Blitch and Brianna Correa; Eagles Caitlyn Latiolais, Haley Stephens, Alexandra Gentile, Kiara Rosario and Jamie Johnson.

Sign up for our e-newsletters