By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Blue Tide, Lady Tide track teams recognized
Pic 1 Coach Harris gives out awards to Lady Tide track tm
Lady Tide track coach Erica Harris presents awards to Kirshana Calhoun, Derissa Crawford and Meagan Alexander during the recent spring sports banquet. - photo by Paula Golden

The Long County High School boys and girls track-and-field teams recently were recognized at the school’s annual spring sports banquet.
This year, four LCHS competitors — Fred Nelson, DeOnte’ Ellis, Kaylee Camp and Alyssa Mullins — qualified for the state meet, with Nelson bringing home a silver medal in the long jump.
For the Blue Tide, Nelson received the most outstanding sprinter award, and Ellis claimed the most outstanding field award. Also, T.J. Sims received the coaches award, Nick Stock received the Blue Tide award, and Dorian Adkins received the award for most improved.  
Members of the team who earned bars for their letterman jackets were Winston Goode, Adkins and Ellis.  Earning letters were Jaleel Braggs, Brendon Scott, Sims, Stock and Nelson. David Beyrau, Parker Christiansen, Dequan Glover, Deandre Reddick, Javien Sims and Anthony Waite received letters of participation.
For the Lady Tide, Mullins received the best overall athlete award. Nicole Jenkins won the best field award and the coaches award. Kirshana Calhoun received the academic award. Derissa Crawford received the best sprinter award, and Camp received the best distance runner award.  
Team members who earned bars for their letterman jackets were Ericka Campbell, Raven Rose, Britney Smiley, Yaritza Valazquez-Gomez, Calhoun and Crawford.  Earning their letters were Gabrielle Berisford, NaKeora Bryant, Kyanna Calhoun, Kobe Drake, Taylor Edenfield, MaKaylee Fowler, Jana Jankowski, Sofia Jenkins, Aisha Johnson, Tyronica Johnson, Michaela Martinez, Faith Morris, Brenda Valazquez-Gomez, Elena Walker, Anita Walthour, Mullins and Camp.  Margaret Alexander, Megan Alexander, Jadah Brown, Sierra Evans and Alexandria Henley received participation awards.
Also recognized at the sports banquet were the Tide golf and baseball teams, who will be featured in upcoming editions of the Courier.

Sign up for our e-newsletters