By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Early voting for Dec. 4 runoff is this week
Vote Sign outside of courthouse

Early voting in the Dec. 4 runoff election in Georgia began Monday, Nov. 26, and ends Friday, Nov. 30.

The runoff race for Secretary of State is between Democrat John Barrow and Republican Brad Raffensperger. Neither Barrow nor Raffensperger received more than 50 percent of the vote in the general election. Libertarian Smythe Duval also ran for Secretary of State in the general election and was defeated.

Former Secretary of State Brian Kemp stepped down from his post Nov. 8, after announcing he had won the Georgia gubernatorial race in the Nov. 6 election and intended to prepare for a smooth transition to the governor’s office. Kemp’s opponent, Democrat Stacey Abrams, refused to concede, but acknowledged Kemp as the winner. Abrams and her supporters had pushed to have all absentee and provisional ballots counted in the hopes of forcing a runoff.

Outgoing Governor Nathan Deal appointed Robyn Crittenden as Georgia’s interim secretary of state. Crittenden had headed the state’s department of human services. She is the first African American woman to serve as a statewide constitutional officer in Georgia.

There is also a runoff for District 3 Public Service Commissioner between Republican incumbent Chuck Eaton and Democrat Linda Miller.

Liberty County voters can vote in advance from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the historic Liberty County Courthouse on Main Street in Hinesville, and at the county government’s satellite office in the Liberty County Community Complex off Oglethorpe Highway in Midway.

Long County voters can vote early at the County Courthouse on McDonald Street in Ludowici. Due to previously scheduled testing, early voting for Long County will begin at 8 a.m. Nov. 28, and run until 5 p.m., according to Long County Elections Supervisor Trynina Harris. 

Sign up for our e-newsletters